Congratulations 2017 ABWH Award winners!

Michelle Scott Hillman
Michelle Scott Hillman, winner of the Brown Article Prize

2017 Letitia Woods Brown Memorial Best Book Prize 

Marisa J. Fuentes, Dispossessed Lives: Enslaved Women, Violence, and the Archives (University of Pennsylvania Press)

Honorable Mention:

Erica Dunbar Nelson, Never Caught: The Washingtons’ Relentless Pursuit of their Runaway Slave, Ona Judge (Simon and Schuster)

Tera Hunter, Bound in Wedlock: Slave and Free Black Marriage in the Nineteenth Century (Harvard University Press)

Robyn C. Spencer, The Revolution Has Come: Black Power, Gender, and the Black Panther Party in Oakland (Duke University Press)

2017 Letitia Woods Brown Best Article Prize

Michelle R. Scott, “These Ladies Do Business with a Capital B: The Griffin Sisters as Black Businesswomen in Early Vaudeville”  Journal of African American History (Fall 2016)

2017 Drusilla Dunjee Houston Memorial Scholarship Award

Alisha Hines, Ph.D. Candidate in History, Duke University.  Her essay: “‘To Make Her Own Bargain with Boats”: Gender, Labor, and Freedom on the Antebellum Rivers”

2017 Lorraine A. Williams Leadership Award

Dr. Barbara Krauthamer, Dean of the Graduate School University of Massachusetts Amherst

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.